Main Event
January 11, 2020

The 2020 Northern California High School Ethics Bowl is tentatively scheduled for January 11th, 2020. Keep an eye out in late August/early September for details and regional case announcements. Hosted every January by the Center for Public Philosophy at UC Santa Cruz, this event serves as a qualifying regional for the National High School Ethics Bowl. The winner of this competition usually goes on to the Nationals at UNC, Chapel Hill. Founded in 2012 by Kyle Robertson, the most recent NorCal Bowl welcomed teams from sixteen high schools. If you’re a school or individual interested in participating, please contact the Bowl Director, Kyle Robertson.

2019 Bowl Results


Congratulations to Stanford Online High School, Winners of the 2019 NorCal HSEB Regional!


Update: congratulations to the Stanford Online High School team for their performance at the 2019 National High School Ethics Bowl! They competed exceptionally well all weekend, making it to the quarter-final round! We are proud of their performance, and want to thank them for representing the Northern California regional so well!


We are grateful for the dedicated community volunteers that make the NCHSEB possible, such as:

  • volunteer-img
    Cynthia Chase
    Santa Cruz City Council
  • volunteer-img
    David Terrazas
    Mayor of Santa Cruz
  • volunteer-img
    Mark Stone
    Local CA assemblyman
  • volunteer-img
    Pamela Comstock
    Former City Council Member
Community Members
  • volunteer-img
    Sarah Edmundson
    Dominican Hospital
  • volunteer-img
    Sandy Davie
    Santa Cruz Toddler Care Center Administrative Director
A variety of faculty and staff from UCSC and surrounding universities
  • volunteer-img
    Sandra Dreisbach
    UCSC Lecturer
  • volunteer-img
    Michael Tassio

If you are a community member or a UCSC graduate or undergraduate student interested in ethics, please volunteer! We are always looking for new excellent high school team coaches and competition day moderators and judges.